Rome-Floyd Solid Waste Commission

The Rome Floyd Solid Waste Commission

In 1994, the Rome-Floyd Solid Waste Commission was formed, which included four voting members, two Commissioners from Floyd County and two Commissioners from the City of Rome and seven non-voting members including the City and County Managers, the City and County Public Works Directors, the Walker Mountain Landfill Director, a Finance Director and a Recording Secretary.   

The purpose of this Commission is to consolidate all solid waste management activities and combine any previous agreements under one governing body. These agreements include the 1992 City of Rome and Floyd County contractual agreement to establish a recycling center, originally funded with money from the 1988 SPLOST referendum; a composting program which was started by the City of Rome in 1993; and the operation of an inert landfill by the City of Rome at the Walker Mountain landfill site in 1994.   

The Rome Floyd Solid Waste Commission oversees the operations and funding of the Walker Mountain Landfill, managed by the City of Rome Public Works, and the Rome-Floyd Recycling Center, managed by Floyd County Public Works. At bi-monthly meetings City and County staff provide updates and reports on operations and finances to the Commission. Recommendations from this Committee are forwarded to both the City and County Commissions. 


  • 8:30 A.M.
  • 4th Tuesday, quarterly first month of each quarter     
  • Sam King Room - 601 Broad Street, Rome, GA 30161

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Elaina Beeman, Chair/City Commissioner  
  • Jamie Doss, City Commissioner  
  • Larry Maxey, Vice Chair/County Commissioner
  • Wright Bagby, County Commissioner
  • Margaret Hollingsworth, Recording Secretary